The European continent can be divided into several regions based on several factors. These factors include but are not limited to geopolitical, geological, and cultural factors. An example of this divide is the Western and Eastern Europe regions. Western Europe is the western part of Europe, while Eastern Europe is the eastern region of Europe. However, there is no clear boundary that separates the two regions. If you want a tour of these two regions, you should first read the reviews of travel agencies in the UK before making your travel plans.

To effectively separate between the two, factors such as geopolitical and socioeconomic factors have come into play, as the key difference between them is that Eastern Europe refers to the countries under communism at some point. At the same time, Western Europe is countries that did not go through communism and were more stable economically. Read BritainReviews for reviews on the registered companies in different sectors of the UK economy.

Western Europe

As stated above, it refers to the western parts of Europe. Countries that fall under this category include Austria, Germany, Belgium, Finland, France, Denmark, Italy, Ireland, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. From time past, these countries have always been associated with liberal democracy and capitalism, and therefore, they have had more stable economies than their eastern counterparts.

Eastern Europe

It refers to the eastern parts of Europe, and countries that fall under this category include Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine. These countries are less developed and stable than their western counterparts, and this is because of their cultural beliefs in communism instead of capitalism.

There are various definitions for Eastern Europe: some sources believe that the sub-regions of East-Central Europe, the Baltics, and South-Eastern Europe/Balkans belong to this category. Its borders are believed to be the Adriatic, Black, and Caspian seas and the Caucasus Mountains on the south, Baltic and Barents seas in the North, and the Ural Mountains on the East.

Cultural Differences between the two regions

1.   Communism

Communism and socialism are opposites to capitalism in political ideology and meaning. In truth, if done right, communism and socialism, ideologies where there is no divide between the labouring and wealthy class, would see freedom and democracy flourish. Communism is a system whereby the workers control the means of production, thereby effecting a classless society and an economy based on equal ownership of the means of production. Each person would receive as much as they need and according to their ability.

2.   Liberal democracy

Liberal democracy, on the other hand, is a system of government where the people consent to their leaders, and the leaders have to respect the people’s rights under the directive of the constitution. It is characterised by;

  • Political participation by the majority of adult citizens, regardless of tribe and race
  • Secret ballots and regular elections
  • Freedom to participate and form political parties
  • The majority carries the vote
  • Limited government powers, et cetera.

Eastern Europe practised and believed in the tenets of communism, viewing western ideologies as brutal and insane, a view that was shared by member states of Western Europe, who practised the tenets of liberal democracy, concerning their eastern counterparts.

Another difference between the two regions is conservatism and liberalism. Western Europe believes that people can act as they wish and are at liberty to make decisions for themselves without regard to anyone. This belief is not appreciated by their eastern counterparts, who are more conservative and traditional. This is why homosexuality, transgender relations, et cetera, are more rooted in western Europe than Eastern Europe.